Your experiences with Wraith

edited October 2010 in Story Games
I was talking with some friends about a game concept I'm working with, and one of the comments I made was that I was considering giving some control about a sort of "inner voice" to different players. Something similar to how Wraith: The Oblivion used to work. One of said friends said that the mechanic didn't work.

Personally, I have no direct experience with Wraith, so I could only tell him that I felt the problem was with the System (Lumpley's way), not with the concept itself not working. But I felt I need a little more information about how things really worked in there.

And then I decided to come here with my doubts and concerns.

So, Story-Games people, how were your experiences with the game? What worked? What didn't? Did that interaction ever resulted in some cool roleplaying? How often was that particular rule ignored? Which were the most memorable play experiences you recall?

Comments

• The Shadowguide worked masterfully, because it took kibitzing about "what you should do" and put it into the voice of a very sinister character. Not only were the characters screwed because the GM was portraying a bleak, dreadful world, but their friend was across the table portraying something that wanted them to fall into the abyss. The only thing that kept the game from being unbearable was that at character creation you made your character's noblest (or meanest) aspirations the central focus of everything you did. Pretty great stuff.

The Shadowguide rule was never ignored, it was used all the time, every time, and it never failed. It was the pure genius innovation of that game. Unless you are talking about another rule?
  • That's the one.

As I said, I knew of the rule by hearing other people talk about it. My friend said "everyone ignored that rule". The claim sounded a little hollow, but since I had no first hand experience...