Why is d20 a great system?

edited February 2011 in Story Games
In this post, Accounting for Taste said:
Posted By: Accounting for TasteYou know, d20 really is a great system, and I say that without any sarcasm or moral judgment. It didn't get to be popular by accident, and the people who like it are not uneducated fools who don't know better.
I really don't know a whole lot about d20 systems beyond the very basics, and now that I think on it, I'm not sure that I've even played much of it beyond D&D and CoC many, many years ago. I've had some of the same experiences as others in that thread, trying to poke friends with the pointy stick of System Matters and whatnot, only to have them stick steadfastly to what they know, no matter what. So, I'm genuinely curious - what makes d20 a great system? Aside from "it's what we already know", why would someone choose to play a d20 game over something more focused, or some other "generic" RPG system?

Comments

• STAVROPOULOS, I SUMMON THEE!
  • Lots of people know it
    Lots of people are comfortable with it
    It has lots of places to tweak and customize
    It has lots to talk about away from the table / on forums
    Its first 6 levels are totally playable with a West Marches style game
  • (I'm enjoying these point-counterpoint threads)
  • edited February 2011
    Since I was so hard on D20 on the other thread, let me say some nice things about it:

- It's an amazingly flexible system.

- Its basic rules are fairly easy to explain to new players.

- It allows for and encourages player-created content. It provides all the tools you need to make homebrew classes, races, skills, spells, settings, etc.

- Rule 0 = <3

- The monster manuals and other similar compendium are just plain fun to look at.