Crowdsource me this: Stop the Press - the journalism RPG

edited March 2011 in Story Games
A lot of people mentioned their interest in a journalism RPG. I'm also interested, both in such a game and in knowing more about what you peeps would like it to do, or not. Mechanics, themes, structure, use, the lot.

I'm a journalist, though these days working on the other side of the "fence" as a press/media person trying to get journalists to write my stories (and editors to publish them), so it's also a professional interest.

Thoughts?

Comments

• There was Pandemonium which focused on tabloid journalism and weird shit.
  • In general, fiction/film about the news focuses on the quest for the truth and the ethics of its revelation.

See Deadline - U.S.A. (excellent Bogart film), His Girl Friday (Cary Grant and Rosalind Russell) and All The President's Men (Redford and Hoffman) as prime examples of the genre.

All The President's Men is my favorite film in the genre in part because of its fidelity to the actual journalistic process (i.e., taking notes and reviewing documents).

Bogart's last film, The Harder They Fall, is also worth checking out: He plays a sportswriter whose newspaper folds and he turns PR man for a crooked boxing promoter to make ends meet. But once he knows the truth about the crooked game, what is his responsibility?

In many ways, the news story and the detective story are the same. They both involve unraveling the truth. The difference is that whereas the detective story generally concerns itself with simply discovering the truth (or in some cases the struggle between the letter and the spirit of the law), the news story is about the ethics of revealing truth and the sacrifices that newspeople are willing to make to reveal it.

Hope that helps.
  • Mechanically?
    -interview based combat
    -a contacts system at least as detailed as Circles in BW