Smallville: The Scion Lifepaths

edited March 2011 in Story Games
Sooo, I really like the White Wolf game Scion for its compelling setup and cool powers, but I kinda don't like the system. Í mean, I've been rolling d10s in die pools for White Wolf games since 1991 and I couldn't get Scion to work right. Either I was knocking the shit out of the non-combat people or the combat people were knocking the shit out of me. There was no middle ground.

However, there were a lot of good things about the game, including the idea of the Fatebound, which is essentially that the characters, being Bigger Than Life, develop relationships with people and sometimes even things that fall into their fated roles: the doomed lover, the One True Love, the wacky sidekick, the eager rookie, the elderly sage, whatever. This concept led me to constantly work out relationship stuff as the center of a Scion universe. I'd need something with superpowers (my first draft of a revision was Mutants & Masterminds), but when Smallville came out, I said, yep, this.

So here's my Scion game lifepath using Smallville.

Comments

• edited March 2011
    The Pathways begin before you are born.

Draw your square for your PC and connect it to everyone else as normal.

Now do two circles (Extras). One of these is your Divine Origin. Zeus, Thor, whatever the hell. Don't connect the Divine Origin to your box yet, but go ahead and identify it. The other circle is your Mortal Origin. This may or may not be a biological parent, but it is a person who reflects your upbringing in this world of mortality and normalcy. It is the combination of your Divine Origin and your Mortal Origin that makes you who you are, but the first thing you do is connect your Mortal Origin to you and draw an arrow backwards to the origin.