Improv: what do you do when you "got nothing", and how to avoid it.

edited March 2011 in Story Games
So last nights game I GMed petered out a bit early when I basically admitted 'I got nuthin'. GMing by improvisation is a skill I am still learning, and whilst the session before was good, this session was not. There were factors - circumstances conspired to rob me of any time to prep the session, even by refreshing myself about my notes, so I went in cold. Plus I was kinda tapped out from being in meetings all day at work.

Now I know about the concept of bangs. I was sitting there thinking, hmm, what I need to do right now is drop a bang on these guys. But what? I couldnt think of anything that wouldnt seem lame and contrived. I tried writing down a list of the unanswered questions that had been raised by play so far, and stared at it for a while, whilst the players talked about non-game stuff. I couldnt think of anything coherent to answer those questions right then on the spot.

Still, I feel that there must be some kind of best practices that a an improvising GM can fall back on in these situations. What are your thoughts? What do you successful improvising GMs do when you you come to the realization that you have absolutely no idea what happens next?

Comments

• I did post this same message to the forge, and I got some answers that I think are helpful and that I agree with. I was just reading "play unsafe" and for me, going in completely unprepped was too unsafe, at least for my mental state at the time.

What Im thinking currently is that its best to avoid this situation by outlining antagonists and their motives up front, such that I can rely on them to react to what players are doing to produce more action.
  • Can you link to the forge answers? Wouldn't want to repeat anything.
  • Huh - I'm surprised that a game with so much room for player input would stall. After you admitted you had nuttin, did the players pick up the slack?