It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!
As a player, you always have the option to spend 1 XP to add a Plot Point to your current pool of PP. This also increases the minimum PP you start each session with by +1 to a maximum of 5 PP (with 4 XP spent). It’s not the most efficient use of your XP, but maybe you really want to get ahead of the game! This increased minimum starting amount resets to 1 at the beginning of a new Act, though—make use of ‘em while you’ve got ‘em.
Posted By: jenskotCan I roll:- both my opponents Complication AND one of their Stress?- or only one Complication OR one Stress?
TRAITS YOU CAN ADD TO YOUR DICE POOL:- One Affiliation die- One Distinction, either as a d8 or a d4- One power from each of your Power Sets- One Specialty- One of your opposition’s stress or complication dice, if any- One asset, if any- One push die, stunt, or resource, if any
Posted By: jenskotIs this saying:- I can convert 1 XP to 1 PP?- Can I do this anytime? (I suspect only during a Transition scene) As often as I want? No limit?Additionally, this says this increases the minimum PP you start each session with by +1 to a maximum of 5 PP. Does that mean:- I'm only allowed to spend 4XP at the beginning of an Act this way?- But if I can convert XP to PP anytime (or during certain scenes), does it matter?
Posted By: jenskotDoes that then also mean you can't use both a push and a stunt at the same time?Followup question, why would you choose to give someone a Complication instead of Stress?I can see why you would want to do both if you could use both at the same time, but now that you can't, I'm not sure. They give you the same benefit in an Action Scene but Stress stays around where Complications go away (unless you pay a Plot Point to make the Complication last longer).The same applies to push and stunt dice. If I can't use them at the same time, why would I ever use a push die?We've played 5 times now, every time with new players (many who have read the Operations Manuel) and these questions have been coming up quite a bit. I'm trying to create an advanced Cheat Sheet but I don't feel I have all the details nailed down yet. And we may be introducing the game to 20-50+ new people this weekend!
Posted By: jenskotIf I spend a Plot Point to make an Asset last for the entire scene (rather than the next roll), does that mean:- We can roll it multiple times in a scene?- Can we roll it multiple times in the same Action Order?
Posted By: jenskotSay I buy 4PP with 4XP.Would that actually mean I've bought 8PP with 4PP?I get 4PP now AND 4 more at the start of the next Act?Or does this mean that I get to keep 4 more at the start of the next Act, assuming I have any left to keep?
Posted By: LudantoNo. 1XP = 1PP and +1startingPP. It opens up a starting PP "slot", you might say.And of note, you don't get 4 starting XP next Act, you get it nextsession. Next Act, it all goes back to 1.
Posted By: stupidgremlinAn as for Complications and Stress, Stress affects one person, whereas Complications are a broader effect, and thus could be weaved into your action against anyone potentially affected by it.
Posted By: stupidgremlinAs for Push and Stunt dice, isn't the Stunt bonus basically Push, but better? Push is sort of like "well, I need a bonus, but can't really justify it in any way fictionally, so here's just a bit of hand-waving" whereas Stunt is "I use this fictional element related to the situation or my character to justify getting a bonus." Hence Push dice being a D6 and Stunt dice being a D8.
Posted By: stupidgremlinAn as for Complications and Stress, Stress affects one person, whereas Complications are a broader effect, and thus could be weaved into your action against anyone potentially affected by it. Sure, if you're introducing a narrow Complication that really only affects one target, sure, Stress would make more sense. Otherwise, bringing forth a horde of paparazzi to interefere with a bunch of villains/heroes, or setting a room on fire to block two opposing sides from clashing (assuming of course they aren't immune to fire) can sometimes be more effective, if not more dramatic.
A complication is like stress because it’soften inflicted on you as a result of an action,but it’s also like an asset in reverse—you usean effect die to create a disadvantage foryour opponent rather than an advantage foryour hero. When a hero suffers a complication,his actions are harder to perform, muchlike stress. Unlike stress, complications don’tlead to trauma and usually go away once thesituation is resolved. Heroes may also inflictcomplications on their opponents, usefulwhen you just want to impair or hinder them.You can render someone helpless with acomplication that’s stepped up beyond d12,which has much the same effect as beingstressed out.To create a complication, use an effect dielike you do to create an asset. Give it a nameand a rating equal to the size of the effect dieused to create it (minimum d6). You may addit to your dice pools against the target justas you would add stress.I’m playing Colossus and I’d rather wrapan iron bar around the Hellfire Guardsthan smash them. I roll my dice, includingmy Godlike Strength d12, and theWatcher rolls dice for the Guard. I getthe higher total, so I can now use myd8 effect die to create a complication,rather than stress. I call it Bound in Irond8 and now on future rolls against theGuard I can add the d8 to my pool.Anyone can use a complication that’sbeen inflicted on a target, not just you. That’sbecause the complication, like stress, is essentiallya trait on the opponent’s datafilerather than one on yours.You can try to exploit a complicationthat’s been inflicted on you, just like you canexploit stress that’s been inflicted on you,but you need a good narrative reason to doit, and it steps up by one after you’ve used it,just like stress does when you use it this way.
I’m playing Kitty Pryde and I’m trying todecrypt a firewall so that the rest of theX-Men can break into the Hellfire Club’smansion. Putting together my dice poolfrom Distinctions, Specialties, and so on,I have a total pool of d10 + 2d6 + d4. Iroll and get a total of 11 (7 on the d10, 4on a d6) and my effect die is a d6. Turnsout the Watcher only got an 8 total whenrolling the doom pool, so Kitty breaksthrough the encryption. I want to usethe effect die to create an asset, so Ideclare Compromised Security d6 andcan either give that to one of the otherplayers or save it for another roll againstthe Hellfire Club’s computer system.
Posted By: Christian GriffenAlso, I as Spider-Man am not going to punch Wolverine (physical stress, which he can shrug off easily with his powers), I'm going to web him up (complications).
Posted By: CamBanksI might make a ruling on Complications and Stress that allow one example of each to apply, which would encourage people to throw Complications around. This is something I'm going to address in the FAQ, I think. I would try playing it that way and seeing if that addresses your problem with nobody wanting to create Complications!Spending 1 XP on 1 PP can be done in any Transition Scene. If you have XP sitting around, you can use them to do this. It also increases the minimum amount of PP you have at the start of next session by +1, up to a maximum of 5. If you had 10 PP at the end of the last session, it doesn't come into play. If you had 2, you'd start with 5. At the beginning of each new Act, all of this resets.Stunt dice are just superior Push Dice, yes. You can't have both.Assets that are persistent can be used in any action or reaction where their inclusion is appropriate. There's no limit to that if they're sticking around, other than the fiction.Cheers,Cam
Posted By: buzzPosted By: LudantoNo. 1XP = 1PP and +1startingPP. It opens up a starting PP "slot", you might say.And of note, you don't get 4 starting XP next Act, you get it nextsession. Next Act, it all goes back to 1.
Posted By: jenskotBut so far it reads as if Complications aren't broader effects. That's probably what you would use an Asset for.
Posted By: CamBanksStunt dice are just superior Push Dice, yes. You can't have both.
Posted By: SkywalkerOn saying that, Complications can be exploited by anyone. So you can all take advantage of Wolverine being webbed for example
Posted By: LudantoPosted By: SkywalkerOn saying that, Complications can be exploited by anyone. So you can all take advantage of Wolverine being webbed for example
Posted By: stupidgremlinI think it's a question of "are you trying to stop them by hurting them?" or "are you trying to stop them without necessarily hurting them?"
Posted By: LudantoBut, Stress can be exploited by anyone as well, right? Not much of a (lower case) distinction.
Posted By: John HarperYou can't physically stress someone out without actually hurting them. You might not want to do that, so you can use complications instead. Spiderman might need to defeat the cops, but he doesn't want to start punching faces.Also, complications don't need to be "healed" so after the fracas, the cops get out of the webs and they're fine.
Posted By: LudantoBut the only way to "stop" somebody is to stress them out until they give up or flee. A complication is just the scenic way of getting to the same end.Not that I have a problem with complications, though. Sometimes they just make more sense, regardless of the math.
Posted By: James_NostackHere is a question that looks frivolous, but isn't. What happens if you try to run the Rhino over with a freight train?
Posted By: Nathan H.How is a 13 year old kid supposed to understand this, let alone explain the rules to their 13 year old friends?
Posted By: SkywalkerNot correct. If you step a Complication beyond D12, the person is helpless for the scene.
Posted By: SkywalkerThere are also loads of Powers and SFX that recover Stress but not Complications. As such, they can be effectively more sticky, and maybe even more so, if you spend a PP to make them last until the end of the next Action Scene.
Posted By: Bret GillanOoh, I didn't even think about that. The way to take down Wolverine is to use complications rather than Physical Stress.