face lifts for old games

edited February 2006 in Story Games
That Morrow-Dogs thread got me thinking about older games.

You know what could be really fucking cool with a few updates? Gangbusters.

Anyone out there besides me have this game? It has a lot of cool ideas, especially for a game made in 1983. There's XP rules in there similar to TSOY's keys, and nothing that says there needs to be a "party." Characters can be criminals or police or reporters or whatever, and they can be absolutely against each other.

The resolution system is kinda clunky, but it'd be easy to fix it up a bit. In general, very cool.

And I suppose that Hero Quest is the face-lifted version of RuneQuest.

Any games out there that you'd like to see getting a cool update?

Comments

• Timelords (if I recall the name correctly) - A game out of Britian based on the Doctor Who television series.

The resolution system was more table-oriented than I like, but I'm a sucker for the Doctor. The basic set-up was pretty cool.

Hrm, maybe it was the "Doctor Who" game proper... Or maybe I've fused them in my head.... Drat, now I wish I was at home at my bookshelf so I could look it up.
  • edited February 2006
    Dark Sun with motherfucking The Shadow of Yesterday.

Funny, I was planning on creating this very thread for a few days now (actually with focusing on old AD&D campaign worlds).

Dragonlance: PTA (issues)
    Dark Sun: TSOY. All the fucking way. (or HeroQuest, if that's your flava)
    Planescape: Stranger Things. :-) ("Tiefling: The RPG")
    Ravenloft: Conspiracy of Shadows or My Life With Master for the "other side". :-)
    Others: Burning Wheel, Riddle of Steel, Iron Heroes, or HeroQuest, depending on what you're into.

EDIT: Sorry, I misread this: I didn't suggest games for facelift, so much as suggest old games to be run with new games. Is that kosher?
  • Heya,