Stripping Away The Personal Touch

edited January 2013 in Story Games
I've been doing some thinking lately and I've come to the conclusion that one of the biggest hurdles for TTRPG newbies is comfort level. Most people just aren't that comfortable opening up to other people, even friends or family, on a creative and imaginative level. I've been doing it for twenty years and I still get a little nervous when I try to speak like the NPCs or my character. I have a very hard time concentrating on playing a role-playing game when there are non-participants in the room, or even in the adjacent room if the door is open.

Role-playing is actually a very intimate thing when you consider it - you're opening up your heart and soul and sharing your dreams with people with the expectation that they're going to listen and react and build upon your thoughts and feelings. This takes a huge amount of trust and confidence. Most people just lack that confidence and trust in their friends (as sad as that sounds, I believe it's true).

There's some inborn fear that people will look down on you or laugh (at least on the inside) when you share an idea or make some kind of story suggestion or speak in character or whatever. It's borderline playing pretend - big kids, teenagers, and adults have all been conditioned to leave childish things like imagination behind. And this is on top of the inherent difficulty of improvisation and the awful social stigma that D&D has earned over the years. What if I say something dumb? What if everyone else is much more creative then me? Or worst of all... what if someone "cool" hears me talking about dragons and magic and knights and make-believe crap?!