I played Tenra Bansho Zero and had thoughts about it!

edited February 2013 in Story Games
I was talking about my experiences on Google+ playing Tenra Bansho Zero last night. Some people over there suggested that I should post a thought I had over here as well.

It's a thought about every roleplayer's favorite topic, RAILROADING.

I just started playing Albert Hwang's awesome scenario "Lotus Blossom's Bridal Path" which contains a scene where the players are aboard an airship, defending it from flying cyborg ninjas, that gets shot down.

I've heard some people express curiosity and concern over this scene, wondering how players would or did react, and I think they're right to do so.

Even if you're lucky enough never to have run into it in an RPG, you've probably experienced "forced failure" in a video game before. You know, that moment when you go through the level, do everything right, beat the boss, and then there's a cutscene where your character gets knocked out and screwed over? No one likes that!

So, I was pretty interested to note that I haven't heard of anyone actually having a problem with this scene, The group I was playing with certainly didn't, and I think there are some interesting elements to Tenra and the scenario itself that explain why that is.

The first element is the Intermission Phase. Tenra sessions are divided into Acts that are separated by Intermissions, and during each intermission the GM gives a preview of the next Act. In the section about the Act 1 Intermission, the scenario makes it clear that the airship is GOING DOWN in Act 2, and that information is intended to be passed to the players.

The scenario also cleverly mitigates the sting of failure by setting it up so that saving the airship isn't the goal. The players are protecting Lotus Blossom, who is travelling on the airship, not protecting the airship itself. This means that players can anticipate the airship crash, accept that setback, and focus on their goal.