D&D Conversation mini-game

So, I've been running a 5E campaign for about two months now. All six players were strangers to me and to each other when we started. I advertised on meetup.com, specifically looking for people who wanted to learn to play D&D, since I had seen some posts on the the local D&D meetups from people looking to learn.

It's been going well overall. However, one thing that has still been awkward has been the characters just naturally conversing with each other in an organic and, well, "human" way.

This morning, I dreamed up a way to structure the conversation in a way that would be helpful. Tonight, we playtested it, and it worked great! Not perfectly, but the conversations and scenes flowed really nicely. The suggested topics often got ignored quickly, but that was fine, as my players quickly glommed on to the fact that the real goal was to reveal new information about the characters' personalities, thoughts, or pasts.

Check out what I am sarcastically calling The D&D Conversation Mini-Game.

Comments

• Anything to get away from aimless tavern tea time!

Glad to hear about your successful playtest, I want to hear more as you test this more!
    Although this might be too organic and human for me (i.e. aimless).

But my big problem lately has been to get the primitive screwheads to recognize when A Conversation Formally Starts™. They just so naturally talk to each other all the time that they never really Start A Real Petition against each other anymore. (Again, with the exception of last session which was strange in a way I'm only just now starting to sort out.)

I'm gonna go have a stern talking to them and maybe workshop it a bit. (I don't want much… just for them to grab an insp token so it's clear to everyone what's going on.)
  • Thanks again, Matt. Your system seems to have (so far) given you better results than mine has given me.
  • May I link to this under "GM Resources" on Fictioneers?
  • This is very cool, Matt.