Reinventing the wheel?

edited January 2006 in Stuff to Watch
Levi Kornelson is throwing out a theory framework/terminology on rpgnet. I can't work out whether this thread is great missionary work, or an attempt to claim ground that's already happy where it is.

I mean, I'm no expert, but it seems like "aha" moments over whether x is narr (sorry, theme-focused), or celebrating the character is a noteworthy aspect of sim, seems tired, even to this 6-month Forge baby.

However, if it this is stealth-gametheorizing, then that's no bad thing!

Comments

• I think it's a little of all. Good stuff, too, to be critical and all that. It's a vast step in the right direction (thinking about what's floating around in the epherma, vs striking it down as "dumb" or "Ivory Tower BS", etc).
  • Here's my word on the subject. This is not a criticism of any specific person or group. It's a statement of purpose; my purpose, as I am defining it in this case.

Choosing to continue use of unclear terminology when you know it's unclear, and refusing to look for ways to change it, is rude and asinine. It means that you want to look down on the other gamers.

Fuck that.

These are our people. These are my friends. If I see a tool that can help them, then I will get it for them. Because that is what friends do. Friends do not tell each other that "your fun is not my concern", which is implied by hiding good ideas behind unhelpful terms.

That's all it is. Get used to it. This won't be the end of it.
  • Really, it's all just a personal attack.
  • Thanks for the link, Matt!
  • I think it's an admirable goal that's likely doomed to failure unless you put a LOT of work into pimping it, Levi. I think the current Forge lexicon (a somewhat random blend of Ron making shit up and phrases coined from bizarre, extended, and somewhat inappropriate metaphors) is pretty much donkey balls, but it's the Status Quo. It's got inertia.

Good luck to you, sir!
  • edited January 2006