Forum-based (semi)GM-less RPG idea

edited July 2007 in Story Games
Hi. My name's Michael. I've been lurking for a bit, but I finally decided to post.

While discussing diceless mechanics and forum-based roleplaying at another site I had an idea for a (semi)GM-less forum game. I'm not sure how 'do-able' it is, and since I'm not a programmer of any sort, I'm fairly certain I'll never know. This was a sudden 'hey, this sounds cool' kind of thing, so I thought I'd post it here.

The concept is built around random generators of the sort you can find at Seventh Sanctum. Of course, this all also suggests a group of dedicated players. Basically, a genre is decided on (space opera, horror, contemporary fantasy, whatever). The group of players come to an agreement on the generalities of the game world, and basic target benchmarks for DCs. Then, as a group, they create a collection of unnamed NPCs (and Beasties, if appropriate) in which ever game system they'll be using; I'd suggest something simple, and probably diceless. These NPCs are entered as a 'list' for an Encounter Random Generator. Or, an alternative would be to create randomizers for all character stats.

Then, each player creates situations they'd like to see happen In Game. They come up with one short, descriptive sentence per each number of players involved in the game (for example, if there are five players Tom writes five sentences). These are entered as a 'list' for a Situation Random Generator.

Gameplay is semi-freeform, players create the narrative as they go. Whenever a character becomes involved in conflict with an NPC they use the Encounter Random Generator to create the opposition's traits. Conflict proceeds normally. Either the player or another player may narrate the outcome. I'm thinking a random generator for each individual Trait would be better suited for this.