Duct Tape, PVC and Foam, Fired on the Forges of our Elders

edited April 2008 in Story Games
So, I am running a boffer build workshop at Camp Nerdly. I had no intention of making use of them at Nerdly, save for the occasional run by clubbing. It was brought to my attention that a Build-then-Use 2 block session would be full of awesome. But, i have no experience, or desire to run the LARP part. So basically i'm looking for anyone who's interested in running a LARP, after the boffer build session.
Anyone?

Comments

• If you're talking about a two-block session, why even run a "LARP"? You won't have very much time for any real plotting, let alone explaining a full system with all the trappings.

Instead, I'd just rope off a sparring yard, or host a "tourney" with a Grand Melee finale. You could use a highly stripped down version of GLASS (glasscutters.org), with only Health and a handful of combat Abilities, and bang out a few generic pre-gen characters (based on likely fighting style for weapon types) and let them go. I'd be glad to help you with such Templates and Packages....
  • edited April 2008
    So there's no way to do limited LARPs, David? You can't have a handful of characters in a compelling situation that can resolve in a couple hours (with boffer combat as a conflict resolution recourse)? I mean, sure, it's not going to be epic, but that couldn't be fun? The only option is to just have a fight yard?

That seems insane.
  • I love hosting and organizing tourneys. If I can get a body or two to stand up and volunteer to help me out with judging (I've never judged boffer before), then I'll totally do everything it takes to organize a good tourney.

• Speaking from experiance, you can totally have a plot driven fully realized and resolved boffer larp "modual" that lasts like an hour or two (i'm used to them running only about an hour). It's totally fun. Way more than just hitting people and yelling a lot.