Games That Capture a Moment in History

edited October 2008 in Story Games
I am new to the whole story game movement (if, indeed, movement is the right word for it), and I find myself wholly fascinated with Grey Ranks. I’ve not played it yet, but I’ve been reading through the play reports while waiting for the opportunity to order myself a copy. It seems, from the reports, an unequivocal work of genius. What fascinates me most, however, is the limited scope of its background. 60 days. Period. No matter how many times you play, you’re still playing within the same 60-day window. :mindboggle:

Before coming across the idea of story games I would not have thought such a brief window could inspire much in the way of a game – a single scenario, sure. Now, though, I find myself wondering what other time periods (read Antiquity, which I enjoy far more than WWII) this framework might apply to – especially in terms of re-playability and the verisimilitude of scenario ideas within the window in question.

Would the structure of Grey Ranks work, say, in a more combat-oriented simulation? Perhaps in a game based around the Battle of Thermopylae, with characters as allied Greeks or Spartan helots? Or perhaps around the Athenian siege of Syracuse, where characters are young Athenian soldiers coping with savage hand-to-hand fighting, disease, and the horrors of an eventual defeat? The possibilities seem endless, but how much does our shared history of WWII play into the audience’s appreciation (enjoyment?) of the game? Is Antiquity too remote for the same emotional response to be felt by modern players?

In any case: bravo, Jason!

Best,

Scott

Comments

• Thanks for the praise! You should look at Frederik Jensen's game Montsegur 1244, which is shares a similar intense focus with Grey Ranks but is otherwise a completely different and more awesome animal.