Licensed content sites

edited May 2009 in Game Design Help
One more and more common feature of blog and webpage design and, it seems to me, game layout is to make use of licensed content which can be used for commercial or non-commercial use, depending on the license.

What are great places to look for this content?

I admit to only follow Story Game occasionally, so if the topic has been beaten to death, please just give me a relevant topic and let this one die.

Comments

• What type of content are you looking for? Artwork? Cartography?
  • Well, my intended question was what sites people here had positive personal experience of for the purpose of desinging games or perhaps websites. I did not ask out of an immidiate need of content to finish a deadline until tomorrow or anything like that. I have just noticed that this seems to have become a very common practice. And I have no experience of my own, so I just wanted to get some fragments from experience of the SG crowd and to hear how people go about that practice.

To somewhat answer your question I would imagine that I would mainly use licensed photographs and perhaps other artwork.
  • edited May 2009
    It depends. I love istockphoto and places like that, but recently I've grown slightly more skeptical of them. I was browsing through shutterstock recently and found some artwork that I would love to have in my game, but I know, deep down in my heart, that whoever posted the artwork doesn't really own the rights to it (because it's semi-famous stuff made in China during the 1970s). Sure, they fraudulently posted it there and I could argue that it's their bad not mine, even if I use it, but that's not really how it works, unfortunately, morally or legally. So I think that, especially when you find cases where the stuff made available seems questionable, that you do some background research and make sure you're actually getting what you think you are, especially in regards to licensing rights.