Creating Pre-Gens, for WPG (or any game)

edited August 2008 in Story Games
NerdNYC is running a little mini-convention in early September, and I agreed to run a four-hour session of With Great Power... I was thinking of using pre-gens based on "real" superheroes, to (a) facilitate audience investment and (b) save time on char-gen. But I've never used pre-gens before (or run a game at a con).

Questions:

1. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using pre-gens? I feel that with supers games, audience investment is absolutely key, and while it's possible to achieve this with "new" characters, it usually takes longer than 4 hours playing with strangers. But I've never played this way before and I'm not sure how it would work.

2. I'm going to have 3-5 players. How many pre-gens should I create?

3. How detailed should pre-gens be? Right now I'm thinking that for certain characters, there'd be a lot of detail for someone who wants "the real deal," and for others (i.e., those characters I don't know very well) there'd be a lot of blank spaces for customization, and players could pick and choose based on how much freedom they would like.

4. For With Great Power... specifically, should I establish the Struggle beforehand? Or should we do that at the table? On the one hand, I think having the Struggle beforehand would allow me to prepare a little bit more, and select some pre-gens that I know fit into the themes. On the other hand, I think establishing the thematic conflict and creating a roster of characters might be domineering and un-fun for the players.

5. (This is just for fluff.) So, if you had to pick Marvel or DC characters for pre-gens, who would be on your shortlist?

Comments

• FYI, I haven't read WGP yet.