Film-noir style game?

edited September 2011 in Story Games
Well, my first post here, so hello Story Games!

On topic now, my group has only recently tried non-D&D roleplaying games(after playing D&D all through high school) and one of my friends has shown interest in playing a game that channels the film-noir genre. I'm especially eager to fill this request because this is a player who has tended to not be as excited about the games, so I want to be able to give a good game to up his overall enthusiasm(also I think it would be cool). Now, I have no experience with the film-noir genre. I'm researching it so I can make the game, uh, authentic is the word I'm looking for I guess. Like I mentioned, I'm also new to the non-D&D thing, so I don't really know any games that would model it well.

What games would you suggest to model the film-noir genre, and are there any tricks that you use to heighten that film-noir feeling(mechanical tricks or otherwise)?

Comments

• Dirty Secrets is kinda cool but may be a bit too shocking for players who have only played D&D.
    There's also A Dirty World, but I haven't actually read it.
  • I wrote a supplement for Mortal Coil that's all about bringing the Noir into your games. It's called Twisted 50s and it's a whole $2 in pdf.
  • A Dirty World was written to emulate film noir and I think it does an incredibly admirable job of it. If you're running a noir game, I highly recommend it. Aside from that, if you're not familiar with film noir and want to run a game emulating it, all I can suggest is that you start by watching the classics of the genre. The Big Sleep, Double Indemnity, and Touch of Evil are essential viewing. After that, try some of: Kiss Me Deadly, The Postman Always Rings Twice, The Killing, Gilda, In a Lonely Place, The Killers, This Gun for Hire, or Dark Passage. Neo noir films that captured some of the same feel include Chinatown, LA Confidential, the French Connection, the Last Seduction and (yes) Blade Runner.